The Death of the Fountain Pen

What was once a prized possession in the shirt pockets of a few is now diminishing. People writing with fountain pens aren’t as common as they used to be.

Fountain pen in school

When I was in school, there was a high regard for writing using a fountain pen. I started using a fountain pen in Year IV. Fountain pens were compulsory as they improved the handwriting and can boost the art of calligraphy.

Filling the ink into the pen was an art in itself. I had a separate cloth to wipe off the excess ink and a piece of chalk to absorb blotted ink while writing. The ink stains on the fingers at the end of a school day was a common sight.

The fountain pen today

Today a pen is used as a writing instrument. Gone are the days when if was compulsory for school children to write with fountain pens. Sadly today, many students don’t know how to use a fountain pen while others have not even seen one. A ballpoint pen is cheap, convenient and easy to use.

Go into a shop and ask for a fountain pen and the shopkeeper will look at you as though you are a dinosaur.

Collector’s items

The fountain pen is considered as a collector’s item and as a status symbol. Luxury brands like Mont Blanc and Waterman have a niche market and not meant for the common man.

4 Comments

Filed under General

4 responses to “The Death of the Fountain Pen

  1. I agree with you that Fountain Pens are used less often than earlier. Back in my school days it was very common to write with fountain pens and I still use them today.
    I disagree with you that there are not for the common man; I know a lot of people you use it as status symbol but I also know a lot of people who use it as a everyday writing tool.
    Collector’s items can be very expensive and I agree that not many people will spend a huge amount on them; this is the same as with any other collectable items.
    The fountain pens I am using are int he medium prize range and I am very happy with them.

  2. Pingback: A Brief History of Early Fine Ink Pens « Notebooktivity

  3. Pingback: Deciding On The Right Fountain Pens « Notebooktivity

  4. Pingback: fountain of death « 404 File Not Found

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and to post your valuable comment.